Launch day for HACK WARE!

Today is the day! HACK WARE is now available, ebook or paperback, on Amazon. If you’d like a signed copy, toss a note in the comments or DM me.

In celebrating the launch of my newest book, I’d like to celebrate the people who helped me develop the story.

This book would not exist if it weren’t for my brilliant and inspiring husband, who unknowingly gave me the idea after his company was hit by a Ransomware attack in February 2021. While working 24/7 to retrieve precious data without paying the $5.5 mil demand, he made the comment, “It’s uncanny how similar this computer virus is to the pandemic.” And the story popped into my brain like a bolt of lightning. As always, he was my first reader, and the book kept him company on a business trip, making a 2-hour tarmac delay not only tolerable, but enjoyable (kind of). He came home and exclaimed, “It’s your best book yet!”

I owe a huge debt of gratitude to my brother, Dr. Jim Davies, full professor of Cognitive Science at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario. A huge SciFi fan and accomplished author himself, his feedback on my first draft informed many a revision, including the addition of several key scenes. Our talks are often about all things writing, which I cherish to no end. Of all my stories, this has the most Jimmy-influence…and is so much better for it.

Of course, I have to give a shout out to my favorite readers of this genre, my three boys, whose bookshelf is jam-packed with fantasy and dystopian series—one well-known in particular inspired an aspect of this book. Can you guess which? I’ll give you a hint. It’s a one-word title and the author’s initials are N.S. It will be an honor to see Hack Ware as part of my boys’ collection. Hopefully, a favorite!

HACK WARE is brought to you by Immortal Works Press. More about the book:

It’s 2065.

Half the world’s population is made up of droids—droids with such sophisticated AI, they pass for humans.

In an apocalyptic New York City, Chevy Rose is still grieving her parents’ deaths when her boyfriend Gage collapses unconscious. When his diagnosis confirms he suffered a Ransomware attack, Chevy must admit he is not human, but a droid.

Chevy’s desperate journey to save Gage leads to shocking discoveries. A terrifying motive by Russian hackers is revealed as the computer virus spreads well beyond Gage’s operating system. If Chevy can’t reverse the damage before it infiltrates the world’s fragile healthcare infrastructure, a life-saving serum her late mother created will be at risk…and so will the lives of all surviving humans.

One comment

Leave a comment